<< Return to News Archive
Claire Pomeroy, President of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, Joins the Science Philanthropy Alliance Board of Directors

The Science Philanthropy Alliance today announced that The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation has become a full member of the Alliance and that Lasker Foundation president Claire Pomeroy will join the Alliance’s board of directors.

The complete list of the Alliance’s board members is here.

“I am very pleased to have Claire join our board,” said Marc Kastner, president of the Alliance. “She is an articulate advocate for increased funding for basic science and has already been helpful as an advisor to new science philanthropists.”

Dr. Pomeroy is president and CEO of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation, which is dedicated to accelerating support for medical research. She currently serves on the board of trustees for the Morehouse School of Medicine and the board of directors for Sierra Health Foundation, Foundation for Biomedical Research, iBiology, Inc., New York Academy of Medicine, New York Blood Center, and Becton Dickinson. She became president of the Lasker Foundation in June 2013.

About the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation

Founded in 1942, the Lasker Foundation seeks to increase support for biomedical research by celebrating the power of biomedical science to save and improve human lives. Through its internationally renowned Lasker Awards, educational initiatives, and public advocacy, the foundation recognizes the most important achievements in science and public service, supports and encourages the scientific leaders of tomorrow, and raises awareness of the ever-present need for research funding.