<< Return to News Archive
Science Philanthropy Alliance Announces New Members, Benefactor, and Board Members [Alliance Announcement]

Science Philanthropy Alliance Announces Rita Allen Foundation and Heising-Simons Foundation as Members, and the David and Lucile Packard Foundation as a Benefactor

Elizabeth Good Christopherson of the Rita Allen Foundation, Deanna Gomby of the Heising-Simons Foundation, and Adam Falk of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Join the Alliance Board of Directors

Feb 8, 2018 – The Science Philanthropy Alliance announced that two of its associate members, the Rita Allen Foundation and the Heising-Simons Foundation, have become members. As members, the foundations will be represented on the Alliance’s board of directors. Elizabeth Good Christopherson, president and CEO of the Rita Allen Foundation, and Deanna Gomby, president and CEO of the Heising-Simons Foundation, will join the Alliance board of directors.

In addition, Adam Falk, the new president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, has replaced Paul Joskow, who retired as president of the Sloan Foundation at the end of 2017, on the Alliance board.

The complete list of the Alliance’s board members is here.

“I would like to express my deepest thanks to Paul Joskow for his guidance and leadership,” said Marc Kastner, president of the Alliance. “As an original board member, Paul was an integral force behind the conception and founding of the Alliance in 2012, and served actively on the board for the first five years of the Alliance. He and our other founding members saw the increasing need for private funding of basic science. Their vision has helped to inspire new and emerging philanthropists to give to basic scientific research.”

“I look forward to having Elizabeth Good Christopherson, Adam Falk, and Deanna Gomby join our board,” continued Kastner. “Their talents, experiences, and commitment to our mission will be valuable as we evolve to meet the needs of the science philanthropy community.”

The Alliance is also pleased to announce that the David and Lucile Packard Foundation has joined the Alliance as a benefactor.

“We are thrilled to have the Packard Foundation join the community that supports the work of the Alliance, as they have extensive experience supporting basic science. They will be a wonderful resource for new philanthropists,” said Valerie Conn, executive director of the Alliance.


Note: On 4/3/18, the Alliance announced another new board member, Claire Pomeroy, president of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation. Read the announcement here.