<< Return to News Archive
Seven researchers named recipients of 2023 Brown Investigator Award

The Brown Science Foundation today announced seven recipients of the annual Brown Investigator Award. The award recognizes curiosity-driven basic research in chemistry and physics and supports investigators’ research with up to $2 million over five years to their respective universities. Each winner was nominated by their institution and chosen from a candidate pool of mid-career scientists at top-rated research universities.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Columbia University – Cory Dean, Professor of Physics
  • Johns Hopkins University – N. Peter Armitage, Professor
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology – Mircea Dincă, Professor of Chemistry and W. M. Keck Professor of Energy
  • The Ohio State University – David A. Nagib, Miller Professor in Organic Chemistry
  • UC Berkley – Holger Mueller, Professor
  • UC Los Angeles – Anastassia Alexandrova, Professor and Vice Chair for Undergraduate Education
  • University of Washington – Mark Rudner, Associate Professor of Physics

“The scientists receiving the 2023 Brown Investigator Award are path-breaking researchers who have developed innovative approaches to address fundamental questions in the physical sciences,” said France Córdova, president of Science Philanthropy Alliance. “I know I speak for the Foundation’s eponymous founder when I say we can’t wait to see the discoveries they will make and how their careers will evolve.”

The Brown Science Foundation, a Science Philanthropy Alliance member, is dedicated to the belief that scientific discovery is a driving force in the improvement of the human condition. Established in 1992 by Ross M. Brown, the foundation announced its invitation-only Brown Investigator Award program in 2020 with plans to make eight awards annually by 2025. The program supports the often-overlooked resource of mid-career physics and chemistry researchers in the U.S.